GrantTrail

Department of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities · Contribution program

New Building Canada Fund-National Infrastructure Component

A contribution to support the improvement and consolidation of the Rodney and Navy Island terminals to allow the Port to accommodate larger vessels, and to install new operational systems and technology to enhance cargo-handling capabilities.

Total value
$1.6B
Agreements
7
Nov 2016 to Mar 2021
Median agreement
$242M
Typical range
$148M–$290M
the middle half of agreements

Federal grants and contributions, agreements starting Jan 2006 to Oct 2026, each counted once at its latest amended value. Source: Treasury Board proactive disclosure, published October 11, 2026.

See every record for this program on the government’s search. How to apply: look up the program on Department of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities’s website.

Who got it

Organizations with the most funding under this program.

By year

Agreements by the year they started.

$0$400M$800M201620172018201920202021
Show the numbers
YearAgreementsTotal
20161$68.3M
20171$215M
20183$713M
20191$334M
20200$0
20211$247M

By province

Alberta: $575M in 2 agreements, $113 per residentBritish Columbia: $81.7M in 1 agreements, $14 per residentMB: none hereNB: none hereNL: none hereNS: none hereNT: none hereNU: none hereON: none herePE: none hereQuebec: $390M in 1 agreements, $43 per residentSK: none hereYukon: $247M in 1 agreements, $4,913 per residentABBCMBNBNLNSNTNUONPEQCSKYT
$14$43$113$4,913

Per resident: the total over the whole window divided by the population on 1 July 2026 (Statistics Canada, table 17-10-0009-01). Agreements are placed by the recipient’s address, so a national organization’s funding counts where its office is.

Province or territoryAgreementsTotal
Alberta2$575M
Quebec1$390M
Outside Canada or not stated2$283M
Yukon1$247M
British Columbia1$81.7M

By type of recipient

As the department classified the recipient.

Recipient typeAgreementsTotal
Government5$1.3B
Not stated by the department2$283M

Latest agreements

StartRecipientValue
Mar 2021Government of Yukon$247,381,000
Jan 2019Province of Alberta$333,600,000
Dec 2018City of Edmonton$241,600,000
Aug 2018Government of Quebec$389,661,618
May 2018Government of British Columbia$81,671,139
Sep 2017Province of British Columbia$215,198,500
Nov 2016Saint John Port Authority$68,300,000