Canadian Heritage · Grant program
Athlete Assistance Program
Athlete Assistance Program
- Total value
- $243M
- Agreements
- 17,199
- Apr 2018 to Apr 2026
- Median agreement
- $13K
- Typical range
- $6,360–$21K
- the middle half of agreements
Federal grants and contributions, agreements starting Jan 2006 to Oct 2026, each counted once at its latest amended value. Source: Treasury Board proactive disclosure, published October 11, 2026.
Most agreements under this program go to individuals (scholarships, fellowships, athletes and the like), so this site names none of its recipients. Every agreement still counts in the figures here.
See every record for this program on the government’s search. How to apply: look up the program on Canadian Heritage’s website.
By year
Agreements by the year they started.
| Year | Agreements | Total |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 2,530 | $32.1M |
| 2019 | 2,445 | $31.4M |
| 2020 | 2,360 | $36.1M |
| 2021 | 2,467 | $32M |
| 2022 | 2,339 | $29.2M |
| 2023 | 1,240 | $19.2M |
| 2024 | 1,300 | $24M |
| 2026 | 2,518 | $38.5M |
By province
| Province or territory | Agreements | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Ontario | 5,144 | $71.6M |
| Quebec | 3,900 | $55M |
| British Columbia | 3,578 | $50.6M |
| Alberta | 2,742 | $38.8M |
| Outside Canada or not stated | 595 | $9.3M |
| Saskatchewan | 348 | $4.8M |
| Manitoba | 364 | $4.7M |
| Nova Scotia | 292 | $4.2M |
| New Brunswick | 111 | $1.6M |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | 78 | $1.4M |
| Yukon | 30 | $384K |
| Prince Edward Island | 15 | $133K |
| Northwest Territories | 2 | $9,003 |
By type of recipient
As the department classified the recipient.
| Recipient type | Agreements | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Not stated by the department | 14,681 | $204M |
| Individuals and sole proprietorships | 2,518 | $38.5M |